About Us

What is RC&D?

RC&D is local people working together to solve local problems and to help their local communities grow and prosper.

Who are we?

We are non-profit organizations that are made up of volunteers who identify the unmet needs in their communities and create solutions.

The Alabama Association of RC&D Councils includes nine Councils that depend on the leadership, abilities and unique skills of the individuals within the communities they serve. The high level of volunteer commitment and credibility has made RC&D one of the most successful delivery systems in Alabama. RC&D Councils are dedicated to conserving, enhancing, and developing Alabama to make our state a better place to live, work, and play.


The Alabama Association of RC&D Councils will play an integral role in conserving, enhancing and developing Alabama to make the state a better place to live, work, and play for all.


To promote, protect and develop the natural and human resources to secure and enhance the social and economic benefits for people across the state of Alabama.


The purpose of the RC&D program is to accelerate the conservation, development and utilization of natural and human resources; foster economic and community growth and development; and to enhance the environment and standard of living of all Alabama citizens.

Contact your local council today!

Find your local council today and get involved in helping your community grow and prosper!

Ala-Tom RC&D Council

Named for the Alabama and Tombigbee Rivers, the Ala-Tom RC&D Council serves Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Marengo, Monroe, Perry, Washington and Wilcox Counties.

Chairman: Nick Williams, Washington County
Executive Director: Marie Lowder
Program Manager: Jennifer Chapman
Urban Forester: Jack Rowe

ALA-TOM RC&D Council, Inc.
PO Box 355
16 West Front Street South
Thomasville, Alabama 36784

Phone: 334-636-0120
Fax: 334-636-0122

AMRV RC&D Council

The Alabama Mountains, Rivers & Valleys RC&D Council, formally called the Tennessee Valley RC&D, serves Cullman, DeKalb, Jackson, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, and Morgan Counties.

Chairman: Allen Pickens, Lawrence County
Executive Director: Renona Seibert
Programs Manager:
Jared Carter
Projects Manager: Celia Moore

AMRV RC&D Council
5514 US 31 S
Hartselle, AL 35640

Phone: 256-773-8495

Cawaco RC&D Council

Named for the Cahaba, Warrior and Coosa Rivers, the Cawaco RC&D Council serves Blount, Chilton, Jefferson, Shelby, and Walker counties.

Chairman: Sheila Baker
Executive Director: Kellie Johnston
Programs Manager: Patti Pennington
Environmental Specialist: Francesca Gross

Cawaco RC&D Council
2112 11th Avenue South
Suite 541
Birmingham, Al 35205

Phone: 205-623-0147

Coosa Valley RC&D Council

Named for the Coosa River, the Coosa Valley RC&D Council serves Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Etowah, Randolph, St Clair, Talladega and Tallapoosa counties.

Chairman: Terry Martin
Executive Director: Ciara Turner
Office Manager: Amanda Ward
Non-Profit Specialist: Heidi Richards

Coosa Valley RC&D Council
8119 Hwy 431
Heflin, Alabama 36264

Phone: 256-253-2454  
Fax: 256-253-2455

Gulf Coast RC&D Council

The Gulf Coast RC&D Council serves Baldwin, Mobile, Escambia Counties and the Poarch Band of Creek Indians.

Chairman: Randall Hastings, Escambia County
Executive Director: Charlie Ramsey
Project Manager: Sarah Wooten
Office Manager: Melissa Baggett

Gulf Coast RC&D Council
309 East Ridgeley Street
Atmore, AL 36502

Phone: 251-368-1606

Mid-South RC&D Council

The Mid-South RC&D Council serves Autauga, Bullock, Butler, Elmore, Lee, Lowndes, Macon and Montgomery counties.

Chairman: JO Norris, Elmore County
Executive Director: Pamela Hughes
Program Manager: Krystal Ward
Communications Specialist: Katelyn Cotten

Mid-South RC&D Council
2740 Central Parkway
Montgomery, AL 36106

Phone: 334-356-1855

Northwest RC&D Council

The Northwest RC&D Council serves Lauderdale, Colbert, Franklin, Marion and Winston counties.

Chairman: Roger Hayes, Winston County
Executive Director: Lauranne James
Office Manager: Vanessa King
Outreach Coordinator: Anna Morrison

Northwest RC&D Council
909 George Wallace Blvd.,
Suite C
Tuscumbia, AL 35674

Phone: 256-383-1446
Fax: 256-381-3318

Tombigbee RC&D Council

Named for the Tombigbee River, the Tombigbee RC&D Council serves Bibb, Fayette, Greene, Hale, Lamar, Pickens, Sumter and Tuscaloosa Counties.

Chairman: Don Sherrod, Pickens County
Executive Director: Laurice McCollum
Programs Manager: Nneka Williams

Tombigbee RC&D Council
2132 Suite A McFarland Blvd E.
Tuscaloosa, AL 35404

Phone: 205-722-2498
Phone: 205-722-2784

Wiregrass RC&D Council

The Wiregrass RC&D Council serves Barbour, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Pike and Russell counties.

Chairman: Monica Carroll, Dale County
Executive Director: Ronnie Davis
Program Manager: Anna Cornelius
LEAD Wiregrass Coordinator/Press Liaison: Nikki Hamm
Outreach and Media Coordinator: Abby Richardson
Support Administrator: Brooke Ethridge

Wiregrass RC&D Council
211 North Union Avenue
Ozark, AL  36360

Phone: 334-774-2334

Have questions?